Claudia Gold

The King’s Mistress by Claudia Gold

On a springoldg day in 2011, in the storeroom of a provincial museum in Cell, northern Germany, I saw the face of Ehrengard Melusine von der Schulenburg. I had first become aware of her in 2006 while I was researching a book about queens and courtesans. She fascinated me.

She was the mistress and possibly the secret wife of George I, Elector of Hanover and later king of Great Britain. Yet her reputation is appalling . I read that she gleefully purloined Queen Anne’s property, particularly her jewels.

Leave a Reply

